The love for books is fading aided by the progress of technology and easy access to information within seconds. With information becoming readily available on the Internet, there is a lethargy that does not allow one to go to the library and take a peek at books.

Drops Everything And Read (DEAR) Program endeavors to eradicate that lethargy and encourage reading. During DEAR, our students get to read their favorite books from the library, which houses a massive collection of variety of books and resources to indulge in.

Ms. Janet recalls, “I can never forget one of my first books that I read when I was very young called ‘The Little Prince’ by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. I was attracted to its name and the water color pictures it had on its cover. The story of the young prince fallen to earth from a tiny asteroid is philosophical and includes social criticism, remarking on the strangeness of the adult world. The novella is the 3rd most-translated book in the world and was voted the best book of the 20th century with sales totalling over 140 million copies worldwide.”

Ishan of Grade VII says “My parent give me presents as books. I took interest on history and many other subjects through interesting books. Books are my best friends.”

Ms. Madhurya says “I cannot sleep without my books. I always have a book on my bedside and one in my bag.”

An interest in reading is inculcated by reading good books. Parents can read out to their children bedtime stories, rather than putting them to sleep in front of TV.

As the saying goes:

Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counsellors, and the most patient of teachers.” Charles W. Eliot

Ms. Janet Fanaian, Facilitator

